Powerplant: Electric Counterpoint

Back to recordings listing

Compact Disc + / Digital Download

  • Cat: SIGCD143
  • Release date: 27 October 2008
Album cover

Liner notes

Powerplant encompasses the work of some of the most dynamic young British artists, bringing together the virtuoso percussionist Joby Burgess and live sound engineer Matthew Fairclough.  The duo are joined by visual artist Kathy in creating an experimental and challenging repertoire.

This debut album pits together two giants of 20th Century music, including a new take on Steve Reich’s Electric Counterpoint and classics by Kraftwerk – widely acknowledged as the pioneers of modern dance music – featuring string arrangements by Ben Foster performed by the Elysian Quartet.

This disc is an enhanced CD, and features a video of Joby Burgess performing Javier Alvarez’s Temazcal, with projections of fire, water and occasional injections of coloured ink clouds by Kathy Hinde.

‘This is a must for anyone surfing the sine waves and all things electronica. Encompassing the work of some of Britain’s most dynamic artists, Powerplant brings together percussionist Joby Burgess and live sound engineer Matthew Fairclough.’

Tony Pinkham, Muso Magazine, December 2008

‘Burgess transfers Electric Counterpoint to a xylosynth, a hybrid instrument somewhere between a xylophone and a synthesiser, to create a glinting, chiming soundworld that seems perfectly judged for Reich's intricate canonical writing.’

Andrew Clements, The Guardian, November 2008

Track listing/listen

  1. Electric Counterpoint I Fast
    Steve Reich
  2. Electric Counterpoint II Slow
    Steve Reich
  3. Electric Counterpoint III Fast
    Steve Reich
  4. Tour de France
  5. Radioactivity
  6. Pocket Calculator
  7. Carbon Copy
    Joby Burgess/Matthew Fairclough
  8. Temazcal
    Javier Alvarez
  9. Audiotectonics III
    Matthew Fairclough